• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    Toothache
    Newest Member
    Toothache
Your Weather Memories

biggest blizzard Feb 7th 1978.,biggest good bust Lindsay storm..worst bust Feb 1989 and December 1989..best hurricane Gloria,best cold wave December 25th 1980,hottest day July 15th 1995,best heatwave July 1977,best Christmas Dec 24th 1966..greatest Thunderstorms Sept 1998..best Noreaster(without snow)..march 2010 followed by December 1992

2/12/2010 snow event here. It wasn't the biggest snow here by far (bit over 4") but it was the first decent storm I really followed, from the first long range model run to the nowcasting during the storm.

Other than that I have fond memories of living in NE Mass during the late 90s, playing soccer in sleet in October and waiting for my bus in single digit weather. Fun times.

I was a Freshman in high school on March 13-14 1993 and didn't care much about meteorology back then. I lived at the foot of The Great Smoky Mountain National Park in Sevier county, TN when it started raining on a warm spring day. The rain changed to snow very quickly as cold air was worked into the storm by a very powerful extratropical cyclone.

It snowed very heavily (2-3 inches/hr) for nearly two full days, when it finally tapered off on the third day there was 30+ inches IMBY (Nearly 3 Ft). Mt Leconte, TN (which was in view from my house) recorded an astonishing 60 inches (Thats 5 ft people) on the ground. I was without power for 2 weeks and out of school for 3. I feel lucky to have witnessed this freak of nature and will remember it as long as I live.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T_yQbxwm45Y

12/2-3/2000 - Big early December snowstorm for our area. Measured "unofficially" 17" at my home in Beaufort Co. First experience with thundersnow.

9/16-17/1999 - Hurricane Floyd with so much rain.

12/22-24/1989 - Last real White Christmas in my immediate area (Bertie County then). Around 6-7."