• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Best weather/radar software?

GRLevel3... probably the most widely appraised piece of commercial radar software out there.

http://www.grlevelx.com/grlevel3/

21-day free trial... $80 one-time registration fee.

If you're looking to go more advanced and your computer can handle the higher requirements GRLevel2AE (GRLevel2 Analyst) is another great solution.

There's also the very new GREarth, but last I checked that was still in beta.

I've been using GR level 3 for several years, mainly to follow severe weather outbreaks, and so far its worked flawlessly. You can download files to add METARS, maps, etc... Very user friendly in my opinion too. I'd definitely do the trial to see if it'll do what you want it to.

Also, if you want to expand on the software, there are additional plug-ins available. WeatherWarrior has live lightning data incorporated into his GRL3.

Most chasers use GRL3 since it's not terribly taxing on a computer and can get the data consistently and reliably in an easy-to-interpret format.

GR2 analyst if you have the $, GR2 is what I run and the most detailed given a cost-effective budget...

http://www.grlevelx.com/

Gibson Ridge products are great. If you have the $$$ GR2 Analyst is great for following tornadic/severe hail producing storms with its 3D volume scans. GREarth is loaded with features and is a great all-around program with metar/satellite/radar/mesoanalysis etc., etc. on a contnental/global domain, and so far been especially nice for following severe weather outbreaks. This program will be received well when it becomes more widely available. GRLevel 3 radar is superb for those on a budget or for reduced connection on the road.