Total Members
    Most Online
    amirah5
    Newest Member
    amirah5
My Weather Demo Tape

WxJordan

Hello everyone!

I am posting this to show the demo tape that I made to send to television stations to help find a broadcast meteorology job. I graduated last week from UNC-Asheville with a Bachelor of Science in atmospheric science.

The job market right now is very competitive, and any small errors can cause someone to be denied for a job.

I would like for you to please critique the tape, good and/or bad, to help me correct the errors. This will help me to hopefully be able to find a job doing what I love.

All comments, good and/or bad, are appreciated! Thank you for your time.

Jordan, being that my expertise is more in line with presentation skills than weather, here is my two cents. First, i love the energy and passion. From the snippets included though it seemed like every cut had an urgency in the delivery. I felt exhausted after watching. If you have anything more "low key" that you could include i would recommend showing the other side of your delivery. On a local level I would compare against Van Denton for example. Nationally maybe Al Roker vs. Cantori. Cantori exudes nonstop energy and passion which is great for a tv show about weather. But I dont think that will play well when you are talking about a weeks worth of 60's and sunny.

So I recommend sharing the energetic Jordan along with the calm demeanor Jordan. (Imagine you are talking to your grandparents). Lol.

Nice work and congrats on the degree. You are on your way!

Everything looked good. You looked a little uncomfortable and fidgety , but that gets better with time. I'm not a suit kind of guy , I don't own one, but yours look a little too big or not just right. Your info delivery and knowledge shows well though! And I very much enjoy reading your posts and thoughts on this forum. Send one of those tapes to Fox Carolina in Greenville, SC. We need a good replacement for Andy Wood! Good luck!