• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    Toothache
    Newest Member
    Toothache
Father drives two sons into tornado

12-year old boy uses iPhone to video dad driving into tornado in Dunn, NC on April 16, 2011. More evidence IMHO that the general adult public is mindless to the dangers of nature -even when provided plenty of advance warning. I've been writing about this for 20 years, and I see minimal progress re this issue. These children were VERY lucky - as was the adult driver.

http://www.wral.com/...92/#/vid9456892

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is at least the 4th video I've seen of someone driving dangerously close to (or getting inside of) a tornado from the NC outbreak on Saturday. What's the cause of all this? Are NC residents really that uneducated to the danger of severe weather? If so they need to make this a class in high school, and fast!

That shoUld be criminal....

On a funny note, I wonder how the guy from storm chasers fells from the tiv? He's spending $$$$$ to get the intercept, and these morons get the intercept of a lifetime

He's probably the reason a lot of people now think it's okay to drive into a tornado. One word for what the Father did in this case-Stupid.

Steve

From a publc awareness/safety standpoint, this type of stuff is as damaging as it is personally maddening. Brings back to mind the vid of the news team (in KS?) that parked on the interstate and went up underneath an overpass as a they had the edge of the circulation of an F-1 or F-2 pass over them. It took years and years (and maybe not yet completely) to undo the perpatuation of the myth of safety underneath an overpass (which caused traffic jams by peeps parking in the road to do the same thing).

Is there some back story to this? I'm trying to decide whether dad was trying to drive them into the tornado or trying to get away from it after realizing it was too close.

The back story is Dad is not mentally stable.