• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
SNE Summer Thread

free_man

Since winter has been over for quite some time, Spring is generally very boring and uneventful, any thoughts on summer?

Temps: I'm thinking near normal, maybe a hot July (+2)

Active severe wx ? '88 and '99 come to mind as mod-strong Ninas following Nino. I'm no expert on ENSO. I don't remember any blockbuster events either summer, though '99 might have had a few decent ones.

Tropical activity? I'm going 14/6/4 as a shot in the dark early call - two landfalls FL to NC and FL panhandle

Thoughts?

• Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Since winter has been over for quite some time, Spring is generally very boring and uneventful, any thoughts on summer?

Active severe wx ? '88 and '99 come to mind as mod-strong Ninas following Nino. I'm no expert on ENSO. I don't remember any blockbuster events either summer, though '99 might have had a few decent ones.

Tropical activity? I'm going 14/6/4 as a shot in the dark early call - two landfalls FL to NC and FL panhandle

Thoughts?

I hope that we don't repeat 1988 wrt heat/humidity That was a nasty one

My early thoughts (which are usually 100% incorrect anyway) are that if the Nina does weaken to near neutral levels then it will be a rather hot summer, however, if we stay more in the weak to moderate category then we will see a cooler than normal summer.

'89 did have a few good severe wx events, especially the big one for SNE, 7/10/89

As far as 1999 goes it stunk for the most part, VERY active just off to our west, especially early on but this year was mainly squall lines with damaging winds.

My early thoughts (which are usually 100% incorrect anyway) are that if the Nina does weaken to near neutral levels then it will be a rather hot summer, however, if we stay more in the weak to moderate category then we will see a cooler than normal summer.