• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
June 10-12 Severe Weather Thread

This is my first time starting a severe weather thread, but per Dr. Greg Forbes' Facebook page, looks like this weekend could get active particularly in parts of Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, and Kansas among other areas in the Plains, Mid-Mississippi and Ohio valleys.

For those of you on Facebook here is Dr. Forbes' page: https://www.facebook.com/twcdrforbes

He has his severe weather predictions up until Sunday on his wall.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

friday *could* be interesting in northern IL on the warm front if everything plays out and also be an early show as the 12z NAM is showing..

from SPC and Roger Edwards

..IL TO SRN PLAINS

SCATTERED TSTMS SHOULD DEVELOP DURING AFTERNOON INVOF SFC LOW AND

ADJOINING FRONTAL ZONE OVER PORTIONS MO...SERN IA AND IL...AMIDST

VERY RICH LOW-LEVEL MOISTURE AND NEAR-FRONTAL LIFT. MAIN CONCERNS

WILL BE DAMAGING GUSTS AND LARGE HAIL. SOME OF THIS ACTIVITY MAY

PERSIST INTO EVENING...THOUGH OVERALL THREAT SHOULD DIMINISH

OVERNIGHT. WEAK AND SOMEWHAT VEERED/SWLY SFC WINDS ARE EXPECTED

AHEAD OF FRONT OVER PORTIONS MO/WRN IL...LIMITING HODOGRAPH SIZE.

SFC WINDS SHOULD BECOME MORE BACKED FARTHER N ACROSS PORTIONS ERN

IA/NRN IL IN PROXIMITY TO WARM FRONT...WHERE GREATEST SRH AND

SFC-BASED SUPERCELL POTENTIAL MAY DEVELOP...FROM IMMEDIATE VICINITY

SFC LOW EWD ALONG WARM FRONT.

12z NAM at 18z Friday

once CoD's site updates with the 12z NAM the GL view maps will be better but not hard to see very sharp warm front across northern IL

The ARR sounding and hodograph at 18z friday is pretty darn nice looking and supportive of supercells on the warm front but after that the sfc winds veer so we'll have to see how this one plays out. 0-3km CAPE values of 230 j/kg.