• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Ottawa: Will There Be Any -20°C Days This Winter?

In the thread about the AO, a question arose as to whether Ottawa might see no days on which the temperature would fall to -20°C or below. After all, as of December 17, Ottawa's coldest reading had been -17.3°C (12/9).

Since 1950, there have been 12 La Niña cases during which the ENSO Region 3.4 Anomaly was -1 or below in both December and January (a likely outcome this winter). In every case, Ottawa saw the temperature fall to -20°C or below on at least one day in both January and February. As a result, I have a high degree of confidence that Ottawa will see at least one day this winter during which the temperature falls to -20°C or below.

But will Ottawa's snow dearth continue?

In those 12 winters, January and February snowfall came out as follows:

January:

Mean: 52.9 cm

Standard Deviation: 18.2 cm

Median: 49.4 cm

Lowest: 28.4 cm, 1956

Highest: 93.0 cm, 1999

< 30.0 cm: 1 (8%) cases

30.0-49.9 cm: 6 (50%) cases

50.0-69.9 cm: 3 (25%) cases

70 cm or more: 2 (17%) cases

February:

Mean: 59.4 cm

Standard Deviation: 39.0 cm

Median: 46.6 cm

Lowest: 18.2 cm, 1999

Highest: 159.5 cm, 1971

< 30.0 cm: 2 (17%) cases

30.0-49.9 cm: 4 (33%) cases

50.0-69.9 cm: 2 (17%) cases

70 cm or more: 4 (33%) cases

In addition, the following are median snowfall figures for a number of different situations during the aforementioned La Niña situations:

1. Monthly AO of -1 or below

2. Monthly AO of -0.999 to 0

3. Monthly AO > 0

4. During winters when less than 40 cm snow fell in December (To date, Ottawa has seen 21.8 cm of snow in December)

5. All La Niña cases as noted earlier

That data is below:

OttawaJanFebSnowfall.jpg