joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
July 2011 general discussion/obs thread

OHSnow

• Replies 1.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

These rains are starting to take a toll. Flash flooding and flooding - many areas. Will be curious how this pattern shapes up - 1993 was like this. One complex after another - for weeks on end. '93 was the year of the meso-complexes. Never seen anything quite like that year.

I remember '93 quite well. It was an exciting season, that's for sure. I think we were under storm watches about every 5-6 days. It was unreal. I was a 9-1-1 operator at the time in the suburbs. We were quite busy. I haven't seen anything quite like that since then.

GFS backed off quite a bit on the heat here - seems to be a fine line between the heat and the storms - as always. Want to be on that boundary to get the action.

I noticed the models have STRUGGLED with the heat ridge for the last week or two - also the thunderstorm complexes keep pushing the warm front south. This messed up forecasts for days on end in this region.

I hate the heat :) - not a fan.

These rains are starting to take a toll. Flash flooding and flooding - many areas. Will be curious how this pattern shapes up - 1993 was like this. One complex after another - for weeks on end. '93 was the year of the meso-complexes. Never seen anything quite like that year.

Yeah, I totally agree. The trend is your friend, most of the time. So I am somewhat skeptical that we will see the type of extreme heat that has been common across OK and TX. Looking at the Euro over the pas few days, one consistent trend has been the formation of a Hudson Bay PV at the end of the run. That should be interesting.