• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Weather Newbie - General Questions!

Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum and could use some advice. I'm a broadcast journalist considering a move over to the weather world because I'm so passionate about it. With that said, I want to start studying the art of forecasting and the language and techniques that go along with meteorology before I make the official switch over. I'm looking for very basic weather explanations at this point. Any advice as to the best way to get my feet wet would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum and could use some advice. I'm a broadcast journalist considering a move over to the weather world because I'm so passionate about it. With that said, I want to start studying the art of forecasting and the language and techniques that go along with meteorology before I make the official switch over. I'm looking for very basic weather explanations at this point. Any advice as to the best way to get my feet wet would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Are you looking to go into broadcast meteorology (strictly TV/radio), or are you looking to switch over to a full-on Atmospheric Science B.S. degree?

The one key question you must ask yourself when considering making the transition is "doing I really want this as a career, or is this strictly hobby material?"

The best way to start learning the basics, besides reading this forum and reading other material online, is to take a basic weather course (101 or a forecasting course) at your university to use as a gauge as to how much you really want to be involved in weather in addition to picking up on the basics. Read discussions from here and from the NWS (usually the Area Forecast Discussion, or AFD) and do a google search for terms that you don't know as they pop up in the discussion... or just ask on here.