• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Why we could see an active severe weather period in early/mid May

Ellinwood

I'm not an expert in medium-range forecasting, but I did manage to put a discussion together to explain why we could have an active severe weather period in the Central Plains, Midwest and Tennessee Valley regions as we head into May. I used the NAO and PNA forecasts, drought conditions and ENSO trends to support the discussion. I did this to plan my storm chasing expedition for the first half of May, but I thought that I should also share it with the forum for comments/criticisms.

http://madusweather.com/?p=1046

Looks good. I think all the pieces have come together this spring including a warm Gulf. Medium range severe weather forecasting isn't my forte but I think i read(maybe at eastern) La nina years start off strong but the CAP takes over later in May and June and slows things down?

also if you are correct, after this month....this is just nuts

A follow-up regarding the concerns of a ridge in the West to start May:

...a progressive upper-level ridge in the West could bring a lull in the action until another system tries to push it east and break it down going into May 6th.