• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    Weathernoob335
    Newest Member
    Weathernoob335
Calculus and Meteorology

lookingnorth

I am a high school student who is taking AP Calculus BC. I have already taken my AP test and now we are having to work on end of year projects. I chose to do mine on the applications of calculus in meteorology. I have found a few basic websites, but nothing really in-depth. The main problem I'm running into is I haven't taken any courses on atmospheric science or the like, though I do have some basic knowledge from reading books. One thing I'm thinking about doing is using vector math, but most of that seems to require multivariable calculus. I'm trying to teach myself a bit of it, but I think it will be hard to learn before the project is due. Do you have any good ideas or resources?

one of the best sources in the use of calc in meteorology is in dynamics. and any meteorologist in here would know this last name when it comes to dynamics: James Holton.

http://www.amazon.com/Introduction-Dynamic-Meteorology-Fifth/dp/0123848660/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400445988&sr=1-1&keywords=holton%2C+meteorology%2C+dynamics

the textbook is now in the 5th edition. when I went to school, my version was the third edition (yes that's how long ago I got my degree).

and for what you'd use calc-wise in dynamics, there is some vector math, but a lot of multi-differential and multi-integral calc. and no matter how much anyone may think the class was hell to go through (and how much the class can scare people off from the major), they also know how crucial it is for not only how to explain how things work in the atmosphere, but also how we relate that into numerical weather prediction down the line.

and one of the big ideas that come out of those atmospheris dynamics: the quasi-geostrophic vorticity equation.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quasi-geostrophic_equations