• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Some Astro Images I've Done Recently - With Crappy Equipment!

kpantz

So there was a request in the PHL area banter thread for me to post some of the astrophotography images I've been able to do. I'm no pro by any stretch and am still playing around with equipment and technique. I don't have a tracking telescope, so the best I can do is point a camera at the lens of my Dobsonian and snap planets and the moon. Anything else I can see is too faint to image without a telescope that tracks and allows longer exposures.

Those disclaimers aside, here they are:

First moon shot I tried. HTC Droid Incredible through my 10" Dobsonian telescope.

post-828-0-45231000-1347198092_thumb.jpg

This was done more recently...a few nights before full moon with my Galaxy S3 through a 14mm eyepiece in my 10" Dobsonian.

post-828-0-94940200-1347197605_thumb.jpg

HTC Droid Incredible through a 9mm eyepiece in my 10" Dobsonian.

post-828-0-56490900-1347197681_thumb.jpg

This photobomb happened while I was trying to adjust focus. 50mm lens on a Canon Rebel XTi.

post-828-0-68204500-1347197771_thumb.png

A not quite focused image of Jupiter and the Pleiades open cluster.

post-828-0-50917700-1347197883_thumb.png

A short stack of longer exposures of Orion. Note you can see the Orion Nebula in the sword. MUCH more impressive in my telescope, though.

post-828-0-70778100-1347197956_thumb.png

Oh - and one more night shot. Found while walking the dog around the back yard last week. Ick.

post-828-0-41187300-1347198451_thumb.jpg