• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    SnowHabit
    Newest Member
    SnowHabit
Solar Minumums vs. Solar Maximums

vortmax

I'm no expert, but having a Met degree and understanding that the sun has almost everything to do with how our planet operates at many levels, I find it hard to believe the term 'Modern Maximun' hasn't been linked to the latest global warming trends.

We've all heard of the Maunder Minimum and the majority of modern day scientist believed it played a significant role in the Little Ice Age in the 16th-19th centuries. You may have also heard of the Medieval Maximum which, interestingly enough, coincided with a global warming period in 8th-11th centuries.

Again, I'm no expert, but doesn't it stand to reason that the largest source of heat for our planet may be primarily responsible for the recent warm-up and cool-downs of our planet?

And for the record, as the dominant species on this planet, I do think we have a responsibility to keep it well kept to the best of our abilities...

post-198-0-53407900-1294936124.jpg

post-198-0-80993500-1294936831.jpg

• Replies 239
  • Created
  • Last Reply

We know that CO2, not the sun, has been driving the recent temperature increase, because the troposphere has been warming while the stratosphere has been cooling and because the sun's output has actually been declining since the early 1970s. There are many other fingerprints, such as C13/C12 ratios, that point to the increase in CO2 as the culprit.

Scientists do attribute much of the early century warming to solar. However, solar activity has plateaued during the period of fastest warming and theoretically there should be very little lag time between solar and the surface temperature response.