• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Miscellaneous Weather Job Stuff

Hey on a side a note...do you live there at times? There's a job opening I might consider there. How long until you go absolutely stir-crazy?

At the Key West NWS office? I've driven past it several times and never even noticed it. They might be the most laid back office... I see them reference local events and use emoticons in their AFD's sometimes.

I spent a month on Key West last year and will be there for five weeks this year-- I don't think it's possible to ever go stir-crazy. The amount of food/bars/entertainment/odd events/recreation packed onto that 1.5x4 mile island is insane.

If you have a low tolerance for tourists, or end up further up the island chain on Big Pine Key or Marathon, yeah then you might lose your mind.

I love 84 degree nights with 78 degree dewpoints.

Weirs Beach

I have a jobs in meteorology question. I'm a freshman at Ohio State majoring in meteorology and was wondering if anyone could offer some specific examples as to what kind of "private sector" jobs there are in meteorology. Broadcast is an option for me, but it's not extremely stable and I feel like for a lot of cases people who are extremely passionate like me don't go on TV. I'm not ruling out the NWS but I don't love the idea right now. People have often told me there are private sector jobs but I was wondering exactly what those include? (besides the obvious like Accuwx)

Thanks in advance!!

At the Key West NWS office? I've driven past it several times and never even noticed it. They might be the most laid back office... I see them reference local events and use emoticons in their AFD's sometimes.

I spent a month on Key West last year and will be there for five weeks this year-- I don't think it's possible to ever go stir-crazy. The amount of food/bars/entertainment/odd events/recreation packed onto that 1.5x4 mile island is insane.