• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    Toothache
    Newest Member
    Toothache
Meteorology Schools and Prep

middlesea

I am a teacher and have several high school seniors who are interested in meteorology as a career.

I have two questions (hopefully the pro mets can chime in):

Would taking Advanced Placement Physics or Advanced Placement Environmental Science be helpful.?

What are some schools you would recommend?

Thanks!

I am a teacher and have several high school seniors who are interested in meteorology as a career.

I have two questions (hopefully the pro mets can chime in):

Would taking Advanced Placement Physics or Advanced Placement Environmental Science be helpful.?

What are some schools you would recommend?

Thanks!

The more physics and calculus in high school, the better.

Any additional Math and Physics courses that your students can take would benefit them in a meteorology program. The Environmental Science would be good too, but it's not directly related to the Met major curriculum (perhaps a good step towards a minor though).

There are a lot of good schools not too from NY. Southern NY state, NJ, and Pennsylvania are littered with good meteorology programs.

Yeah, AP Physics and AP Calculus (as well as AP Chem) would be most helpful. I took AP EnvSci in HS and enjoyed it (and wound up minoring in it) but it doesn't contribute to the actual major. No AP classes hurt, though.

As far as schools, I think most of the SUNY schools are good, Penn State, Millersville, Cornell and Rutgers come to mind as the closest schools for your students. Out on Long Island, I think SUNY Stonybrook is the only school that offers Meteorology.