• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    12bet1 net
    Newest Member
    12bet1 net
Best place to be in my walkout basement in a tornado

So I am new to a house, and I have an interesting basement, specifically regarding where I should go in it in the off chance of a tornado.

To start with, I live in Saukville, WI, close to Lake Michigan and north of Milwaukee like 25 miles.  I know I probably don't have to worry about any EF5's any time soon, but I'm a bit neurotic about severe weather....

I modeled up the basement for future finishing ideas.  What you see in the picture is pretty self explanatory.  The long wall at the top is the north wall.  All of the brown is a rough approximation of the ground.  All of the basement walls are concrete block.  The area to the right is a shop, with a metal garage door.  The area to the left is all unfinished.  There are two windows and a glass sliding door in the other spots.  The stairs does not have a door under it, it is open straight to the windows.

Now, where would you go in this basement during an oncoming tornado?  I have read that garage doors can fail, and even though the shop has no windows, that seems sort of dangerous.  My completely ignorant hypothesis would be the westmost corner, just around the corner from the area with the sliding door.  Unfortunately the pipe there is PVC, but am I right in assuming tying yourself to anything super heavy (ala Twister) is stupid?  Second would maybe be by the utilties to the north and adjacent to the shop, but there is still a direct line of sight from the windows.