• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    amirah5
    Newest Member
    amirah5
Getting into a meteorology related career without a meteorology degree?

Hello,

I graduated with an Economics degree almost 2 years ago and have been working as an analyst for a well known financial company. However, it's not really something I want to do in the long-term. My passion  lies in meteorology... regrettably I did not pursue it as a major. I did take a few meteorology classes as electives, as well as a physics course and low level calc.

Ideally since I already have an economics degree, I'd like to get into energy trading. What would be the best course of action to get into this field? Should I go back to school and get another BS in Meteorology?  Or would it be possible to get into a graduate program with my limited qualifications of taking several lower level meteorology courses? I'd like to keep working so I have steady stream of income, so I don't think going back to school full time would be the best option for me. I was looking into some online meteorology certificates, particularly this one from PSU:

http://www.worldcampus.psu.edu/degrees-and-certificates/weather-forecasting-certificate/overview

Does anyone know anything about these? Would it be useful pursuing this or completely worthless?

I'd really appreciate any suggestions or advice