Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Tornado Preparedness and Sheltering in South Carolina

Kevin Ash

Hello SE region weather enthusiasts,

My name is Kevin and I'm new to the American Weather forums.  I'm originally from Oklahoma, but have lived in Florida and South Carolina during graduate school.  I worked for Weathernews in Norman, OK for several years before returning to school.  I am currently a PhD student in Geography at the University of South Carolina in Columbia.  My research interests are in Hazards, Disasters and Risk Communication. 

My first post is an announcement of sorts, and also an ask for assistance from anyone on this forum who is from South Carolina or neighboring states.

I am conducting dissertation research on tornado preparedness and sheltering strategies of manufactured home residents in South Carolina.  The study is underway, but I am still in need of about 20 more participants.

What are participants asked to do?

Participants are asked to do one interview with me where we discuss several aspects of tornado preparedness and sheltering.  The interview process is not a test of knowledge; rather, it is intended to understand a wide range of opinions and perspectives related to the act of taking shelter from a tornado. Interviews typically last 30-50 minutes and can be done via telephone, Skype (or similar video chat), or in-person.  The results of the interviews will be anonymous; your personal information and opinions will not be made public.

There will be a second interview/activity about 2-4 months after the first interview.  In the second interview, participants will read opinion statements on index cards and sort them into piles based on how much they agree or disagree with the statements.  The goal of this activity is to identify a few common perspectives that many manufactured home residents share about tornado sheltering.

What do participants gain from doing the interviews?