• Member Statistics

Total Members
    Most Online
    joxey
    Newest Member
    joxey
Mississippi State University

I just started in the program this Summer and I'm currently in the NWP class. It's based off of a lot of MetEd Comet Modules(UCAR helped build the AMP program) so there's not much math in it at all. It's more about understanding conceptual ideas. It's a 10-week class(compared to 15 weeks during a regular semester) so a lot of the assignments are condensed and deadlines come up quickly. So far I'm doing really well in the class and the professor(s) is easy to email and will respond back quickly with any questions you may have on a topic.

This is my first time taking any type of class online and with no real instruction(no vids or live chats in this particular class-just discussions on a discussion board) and you just have to structure your time wisely.

I too am interested in hearing more about this program. I have put the word out to some of my colleagues and so far the response from one of my undergraduate professors was that he had not heard of this program. Another friend knows a few people that are currently taking courses and they said there are real math assignments, dynamics, and a thesis. That's all I have so far but would love to hear more if anyone knows anything else.

I'm extremely skeptical about the rigor of such a program.

Some red flags from someone who holds both a MS and PhD in atmospheric science:

1) there is not one PhD-holding faculty member in Meteorology (i.e. holds their PhD in atmospheric science and/or meteorology).

2) the price (~$300 / credit hour and total cost of ~12 K) vs. the quality of education (I didn't pay a cent for either of my graduate degrees and either did 75% of the student population in atmospheric science because of the availability of teaching/research assistantships, which provide full tuition, insurance, and a living stipend (~$18 to 24 K)).